My Daily Word: Foolish

This weekend, I came across a great quote from Anne Rice.  It said:

“To write something, you have to risk making a fool of yourself.”

How true.  I don’t know what she said before or after that, but I would personally extend that sentiment a bit.  Many people write, but there is a big leap of faith that must be taken in putting it “out there”.  There is no risk of embarrassment if you keep your writing to yourself.

For those of us who might fall into the fearless category (like me 🙂 ), we risk being embarrassed, criticized, corrected, and much more.   I don’t know why I seek to be “heard”, but even negative comments are a form of acknowledgment.

Well, that’s really as philosphical as I can get on a Monday morning at 9 am.  However, I have a new plan to stretch my inner writer each day.  Like my favorite comedian, George Carlin, I love words.  I love the English language.  So, today I begin something new, which I’ll call:  My Daily Word.

Thinking along Anne Rice’s words, I started researching phrases that involve foolishness.  In a very stream-of-consciousness way, I came across that old adage that we are our own worst enemy.  Very true.  As writers, we have many enemies:  writers block, procrastination, the internal editor, the dirty laundry, the Lord of the Rings DVD’s which keep calling my name.  Well, you get the idea.

So, My Daily Word for today is represented in a senryu poem.  A tongue-in-cheek look at ourselves…no matter what you do for a living.

I found the villain
he’s closer than I thought
my breath fogs the mirror

Have a brilliant day, and keep writing!

Eternally,

Lynda Gail Alfano

~ by immortaldiva on July 20, 2009.

One Response to “My Daily Word: Foolish”

  1. Love the ‘I found the villian’ senryu…clever twist…..guess the villian usually is the “Man in the Mirror”….or so.. we hope.. the hero!! At least on a good day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
