Senryu Poem – Eternal Pride

I recently learned about a form of poetry called senryu.  It is similar to haiku in that it is unrhymed and 17 syllables or less.  The difference is in theme.  A senryu is supposed to be a bit satirical or ironic, and to be about human nature or human artifacts.

Artifacts?  That’s right up my alley of interest!  🙂

I was looking through my personal photos from my trip to Egypt, and one really stuck in my mind.  The Sphinx, which of course I wrote about earlier.  But this time, I focused on the face of the Sphinx.  There are certainly some interesting stories about how the great statue lost it’s nose.  Yet, I can’t help but think of one particular old adage when I look at the massive chip in the stone features: “cut off your nose to spite your face”.

So, here is my first (and hopefully not too lame) attempt at a senryu poem about spite.

Profile of the Sphinx

Profile of the Sphinx

rigid with cold pride,

yet spitefully nosing

into the sharp sand

by

Lynda Gail Alfano

~ by immortaldiva on July 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
