My Daily Word – Research

I hadn’t planned on blogging today, since I am knee deep in preparing my 5,000 word submission for critique in my Gotham Writers Workshop.

However, I just read a blog posted by Jennifer Neri  a few days ago…and I love the photos she included with it:  Jennifer’s Blog.  I especially identify with the post-its all over the laptop.  :)

I love this subject! Research is my favorite part!  The problem can be in stopping the research in favor of actually writing.  I initially spent about a year researching ancient Egyptian life before I started writing my novel.

In the end, I have at least a dozen notebooks filled with ideas, facts, questions, links, etc.  And I have a collection of over 30 books on various Egyptian topics: daily life of Egyptians, Egyptian gods and goddesses, alien theories, pyramid and sphinx theories, etc etc etc.

What I love most….is finding the gaps in history…and thinking of paranormal ways of filling them! :)

So, thanks Jennifer…for inspiring today’s daily word…research.  I’ll admit…today’s senryu is very corny, but it’s all in good fun.

post-it-noteGoogle has found it!

Universe solved and not a

Post-it anywhere!

***

Keep researching…and writing!

Eternally,

Lynda Gail Alfano

~ by immortaldiva on July 29, 2009.

3 Responses to “My Daily Word – Research”

  1. I’ve been researching early Christianity and I’ve also been researching exorcisms heavily during the last few weeks. I’ve found such great resources that I’m considering sending in a bibliography if my novel is ever published. ;-)

    Teresa

  2. I remember when I was deep into researching early Egyptian mythologies. It is amazing how all of the ancient religions are actually intertwined….and greatly influenced each other.

    For a quick example, in Christianity today, we end our prayers with “Amen”…which is a direct holdover from Egyptian prayers to the god Amen…also known as Amun.

    From Summarian beliefs to Pheonician, Egyptian, Greek, Judaism, and eventually Christianity…the similarities can be striking.

    And somehow, I love reading about them all. :)

  3. You are very welcome Lynda!

    – What I love most….is finding the gaps in history…and thinking of paranormal ways of filling them! –
    how wonderful!
    I love coming across a fiction book that has a bibliography – it is a little gift.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

